BIOGRAFIE
DEUTSCH ENGLISH
 
     
 

Otto Katzameier’s repertoire, which ranges from classic opera, to oratorio and Lied, to contemporary music, reflects his striking versatility. In particular, his brilliant interpretations of the works of Salvatore Sciarrino have received great acclaim.

Otto Katzameier studied singing in his hometown of Munich with Josef Metternich and Hans Hotter. He soon began to win prizes at many prestigious competitions, such as the Mastersinger Competition Nuremberg, Mozart Competition Würzburg, Hugo Wolf Competition Stuttgart, and the Bundeswettbewerb Gesang Berlin.

In recent years, he has performed many major operatic roles. These include Don Giovanni, Leporello, Guglielmo and Alfonso (Cosí fan tutte, Rheingau Musik Festival), Mustafa (L’Italiana in Algeri), and Imeneo (Handel Festival Halle). His guest performance in Offenbach’s Bluebeard at the Bregenz Festival has been particularly celebrated. His concert repertoire contains such works as Elija, Messiah, Saul, St. Matthew Passion, and the requiems of Brahms and Verdi.

Otto Katzameier’s dedication to contemporary music theatre is evident in the wide range of roles he has taken on, such as Prospero (Un Re in Ascolto by Berio), Landarzt (Ein Landarzt by Henze), Egäus (Berenice by Staud), Macbeth (Macbeth by Sciarrino), Dominique (Freax by Eggert), and Pope Urban VIII (Galilée by Jarrell). Otto Katzameier has worked together with prominent stage directors Achim Freyer, Willy Decker, Trisha Brown, Christoph Schlingensief, Stefan Herheim, and Nicolas Brieger. Opera productions have led him to the Salzburg Festival, Wiener Festwochen, Berliner Festspiele, and Biennale Munich as well as to Rome, Frankfurt, Paris, New York, Venice, Tokyo, Warsaw, Amsterdam, Brussels, Madrid, and Tel Aviv.

CD-recordings of Luci mie traditrici and the cycle of orchestral songs Quaderno di Strada – dedicated to Otto Katzameier himself – with the Klangforum Vienna, Beat Furrer, and Sylvain Cambreling, demonstrate his intense interest in Sciarrino’s work. The Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung nominated Otto Katzameier for “Singer of the Year” in 2006 for his interpretation of the Prince in Sciarrino’s opera Da Gelo a Gelo (world premiere at the Schwetzinger Schlossfestspiele). Further performances of the opera followed at the Opéra national de Paris and at the Grand Théâtre de Genève. He received enthusiastic international reviews for his interpretation of Lars in Georg Friedrich Haas’ opera Melancholia (world premiere at the Opéra National de Paris in 2008). In 2009, he appeared in Frank Martin’s Le Vin Herbé, produced by the RuhrTriennale at the Opéra de Lyon, as well as at the Salzburg Festival for the concert series Kontinent Varèse in collaboration with Ensemble Modern. In addition, he sang the title role in the 2009 recording of Haydn’s Singspiel Die Feuersbrunst (The Conflagration). Also in 2009, Otto Katzameier made his Wagner-debut as Wolfram in Tannhäuser at the Teatro dell’Opera di Roma.

His close collaboration with Klangforum Wien brought him to Berlin in March 2010 for MaerzMusik, where he wowed audiences with his performance in Sciarrino’s Luci mie traditrici. Also in 2010, he gave his debut with the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin at the Ultraschall Festival, appeared at the Muziekgebouw Amsterdam with musikFabrik, and sang in the world premiere of Philipp Maintz’s opera Maldoror at the Munich Biennale. Otto Katzameier opened the Teatro Madrid’s 2010/2011 season with Kurt Weill’s Rise and Fall of the City of Mahagonny (direction: La Fura dels Baus) and returned later in the season to play the main role in the world premiere of Pilar Juardo’s La página en blanco. He also sang in the successful world premiere of Georg Friedrich Haas‘ opera Bluthaus at the Schwetzinger SWR Festspiele 2011. In September 2011, the opera will be performed at the Theater Bonn. He can also be heard this season in the Teatro Real production of Weill’s Mahagonny at the Bolshoi-Theater in Moscow and with the Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo in a premiere of a new work by Philipp Maintz.

Season 2011/12

BIOGRAFIE
DEUTSCH ENGLISH
 
     
 

Eine bemerkenswerte Vielseitigkeit zeigt sich in der künstlerischen Arbeit des Bassbaritons Otto Katzameier, die sowohl das klassische Opern-, Oratorien- und Liedrepertoire als auch Neue Musik umfasst. Hier hat sich Katzameier unter anderem als exzellenter Interpret der Werke Salvatore Sciarrinos etabliert.

Otto Katzameier studierte in seiner Heimatstadt München Gesang bei Josef Metternich und Hans Hotter. Bald errang er Preise bei renommierten Wettbewerben wie dem Meistersängerwettbewerb Nürnberg, dem Mozartwettbewerb Würzburg, dem Hugo Wolf-Wettbewerb Stuttgart und dem Bundeswettbewerb Gesang Berlin.

Auf der Opernbühne hat er sich in den vergangenen Jahren in wichtigen Rollen seines Faches profiliert: So war er als Don Giovanni, Leporello, Guglielmo, Alfonso (Cosí fan tutte, Rheingau Musik Festival) und als Händels Imeneo (Händelfestspiele Halle) zu hören; sehr erfolgreich gastierte er in Offenbachs Blaubart bei den Bregenzer Festspielen. Zu seinen Konzertpartien gehören Werke wie Elias, Messias, Saul, Matthäuspassion und die Requiem von Brahms und Verdi.

Otto Katzameiers Engagement für das zeitgenössische Musiktheater dokumentiert sich in einer ganzen Reihe von Partien. Dazu gehören Berios Prospero (Un Re in Ascolto), Henzes Landarzt (Ein Landarzt), Stauds Egäus (Berenice), Sciarrinos Macbeth (Macbeth), Eggert‘s Dominique (Freax, UA) sowie Jarrels Papst Urban VIII (Galilée) in Inszenierungen von Achim Freyer, Willy Decker, Trisha Brown, Christoph Schlingensief, Stefan Herheim und Nicolas Brieger. Im Rahmen dieser Produktionen gastierte er bei den Salzburger Festspielen, Wiener Festwochen, Berliner Festspielen, der Münchner Biennale sowie in Rom, Frankfurt, Paris, New York, Venedig, Tokio, Warschau, Amsterdam, Brüssel, Madrid und Tel Aviv.

CD-Einspielungen von Luci mie traditrici und dem Otto Katzameier gewidmeten Orchesterliederzyklus Quaderno di Strada mit dem Klangforum Wien unter Beat Furrer und Sylvain Cambreling belegen seine intensive Beschäftigung mit Sciarrinos Werk. Für seine Interpretation des Principe in dessen Oper Da Gelo a Gelo (UA Schwetzinger Festspiele) wurde Otto Katzameier von der FAZ zum Sänger des Jahres 2006 nominiert. Weitere Aufführungen dieser Oper folgten an der Opéra national de Paris und am Grand Théâtre de Genève. Für die Partie des Lars in Georg Friedrich Haas‘ Oper Melancholia (UA 2008, Opéra national de Paris) erhielt er international sehr gute Resonanz. 2009 war er in Frank Martins Le Vin Herbé in einer Produktion der RuhrTriennale zu erleben, debütierte mit dem RSO Stuttgart beim Eclat Festival und gastierte erneut mit dem Ensemble Modern im Rahmen des Festivalschwerpunktes Kontinent Varèse bei den Salzburger Festspielen. Zudem erschien 2009 die CD-Einspielung von Joseph Haydns Singspiel Die Feuersbrunst, bei der er die Hauptpartie sang. Im gleichen Jahr reüssierte er am Teatro dell’Opera di Roma mit seinem Wagner-Debüt als Wolfram in Tannhäuser.

Seine enge Zusammenarbeit mit dem Klangforum Wien führte ihn 2010 zum Festival MaerzMusik in Berlin, wo er mit seinem Auftritt in Sciarrinos Luci mie traditrici begeistern konnte. Zudem gab er sein Debüt beim Deutschen Symphonie-Orchester im Rahmen des Ultraschall Festivals Berlin, war mit der MusikFabrik Köln am Muziekgebouw Amsterdam zu Gast und sang die Uraufführung von Philipp Maintz’ Oper Maldoror bei der Biennale München. In der Saison 2010/11 war er am Teatro Real Madrid zu Gast, wo er in der Eröffnungsproduktion von Weills Aufstieg und Fall der Stadt Mahagonny (Regie: La Fura dels Baus) auftrat sowie die Hauptrolle der Uraufführung von Pilar Jurados La página en blanco sang. Darüber hinaus brachte er die neue Oper Bluthaus von Georg Friedrich Haas bei den Schwetzinger SWR Festspielen 2011 sehr erfolgreich zur Uraufführung. Im September 2011 ist er in dieser Produktion am Theater Bonn zu erleben. In der Spielzeit 2011/12 wird er außerdem mit dem Teatro Real in Weills Mahagonny am Bolschoi-Theater in Moskau gastieren und mit dem Orchestre Philharmonique de Monte-Carlo ein neues Werk von Philipp Maintz zur Uraufführung bringen.